Ayesha Khan, age 14, a pupil at Waldegrave School, is this year’s winner of the Poster Design competition, having been a runner up in her age group in 2015. Her flower painting now illustrates the poster publicising this summer’s Merit Award gardening competitions.

The competition is judged in four age categories and three schools each achieved two award places: Buckingham Primary School, Radnor House School and Waldegrave School.

There was also special success for Thea Ratnayake, age 7, a runner-up last year who this time won the 5-7 years group.

All 12 award winners will be presented with a special certificate and prize art pack by the Mayor, Cllr Martin Seymour, on Friday May 13 at York House, Twickenham, followed by a celebration tea party, together with their parents, siblings and teacher.

The winning design for 2016 by Ayesha Khan, age 14 from Waldegrave School.



Overall winner

Ayesha Khan, age 14 [Category D: 12-16 years] Waldegrave School

Category A (Under 5 years)
1st Place: Maarya Mukhtar (3 yrs) Jack & Jill School
Runner-up: Naiya Cassar (4 yrs) Buckingham Primary School
Runner-up: Azeen Khaled (4 yrs) Buckingham Primary School

Category B (5-7 years)
1st Place: Thea Ratnayake (7 yrs) St Mary’s & St Peter’s C of E School
Runner-up: Dora Richardson (7 yrs) St Mary Magdalene
Runner-up: Holly Claassen (6 yrs) Stanley Primary School

Category C (8-11years)
1st Place: Ava Holt (8 yrs) Orleans Primary School
Runner-up: Catherine James (10 yrs) Lady Eleanor Holles Junior School
Runner-up: Lilah Tincknell (11 yrs) Radnor House

Category D (12-16 years)
1st Place and Overall Winner: Ayesha Khan (14 yrs) Waldegrave School
Runner-up: Sasha Scott (12 yrs) Waldegrave School
Runner-up: Nina Evans (13 yrs) Radnor House

2016 Poster Designs


1st Place . . .
. . . .
Category A (Under 5 yrs) Category B (5-7 yrs) Category C (8-11 yrs) Category D (12-16 yrs)
MaaryaMukhtar Thea_Ratnayake Ava_Holt Ayesha_Khan
Maarya Mukhtar, Jack & Jill School Thea Ratnayake, St Mary’s & St Peter’s C of E School Ava Holt, Orleans Primary School Ayesha Khan, Waldegrave School
. . . .
Runners-up . . .
. . . .
Category A (Under 5 yrs) Category B (5-7 yrs) Category C (8-11 yrs) Category D (12-16 yrs)
Naiya_Cassar Dora_Richardson Catherine_James Sasha_Scott
Naiya Cassar, Buckingham Primary School Dora Richardson, St Mary Magdalene Catherine James, Lady Eleanor Holles Junior School Sasha Scott, Waldegrave School
. . . .
Azeen_Khaled Holly_Claassen Lilah_Tinknell Nina_Evans
Azeen Khaled, Buckingham Primary School Holly Claassen, Stanley Primary School Lilah Tincknell, Radnor House Nina Evans, Radnor House
. . . .

Older designs

Previous results can be found here:
2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015